New long range gun project

codyarnold

Hey guys I'm looking to build my first long range gun, I have my hunting rifle that shoot tight out to 300-400 yards but I want to shoot farther. I want to have another gun besides my 300wthby to shoot. So my question is what do you guys recommend for cal, action, barrel, stock and of course optics. And I'm new to the long range shooting game. I'm only looking to shoot like deer and targets at long range, any info will help guys.

If you can hold MOA or better that 300wby is more than enough to get you to a thousand yards for any game in N. America save possibly big bears.

What is your intended use/game etc?

Well you asked!:D

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f17/introducing-406-edition-long-range-rifle-package-125104/

Actually regardless of where you get your rifle made the above question is a pretty good point do you plan on reloading?? We always try to put shooters into a few common calibers that are not only easy to shoot , but easy to find ammo and or reloading supplies for...the short list is 308, 260, 7mm mag, and 300 win mag. These calibers are all capable of great accuracy and precision as well as somewhat easy on the pocket book to buy or reload ammo.

If your looking into long range shooting I would definitely recommend learning to roll your own.

As far as optics I don't think you can beat Vortex in the long range market today. They have optics in about any price range designed around stretching out the distance of your shots and offer many standard options that are not available in their price point from anyone else.

There are lots of good optics out there, but vortex's warranty is unbeatable and they really are trying to produce optics the shooters want and ask for the customer service is top notch.

JWH@406

If you can hold MOA or better that 300wby is more than enough to get you to a thousand yards for any game in N. America save possibly big bears.

What is your intended use/game etc?