New form of competitive shooting?

Kyle87

Hey guys I have been shooting rifle seriously for a few years and am getting to love it more and more everyday. I see and read everyday about the growing popularity of the precision rifle series. Me being hunting oriented the urge to try out this form of shooting is there but the caliber of guns people in my area shoot see to be larger magnum calibers. Do you guys think there would be any interest in a hunting oriented type shooting series. Maybe 15-20 scenarios with 2 man teams (shooter and spotter switch each station) 2-3 minutes to collect data and make the shot at animal size targets. Let me know what you guys think

I have been thinking the same thing and instead of just getting hits add scoring rings in vital areas a lot like the bow targets use. And maybe standing to shoot close targets around 100 yards, kneeling or sitting to 300 to 400 yards prone on out at long range and maybe throw in a running target and a pop up or two some time limitations to get the heart rate up and a no shoot doe or cow limiting the line of sight I'm in

Exactly... All hunting scenarios wrapped up in an event. Have a few where you can't shoot prone. Also I was thinking limit it to 1000 yards and .30 cal so no big .338s to make it more practical.

I think you could attract a lot of shooters to that kind of shoot as everyone has a hunting rifle but not everyone has a rifle they want to go out and shoot a 100 rounds per weekend. And personally I'm not in to the tacticool crowd and am too old to run around and try to shoot standing on my head. But a good uphill hike to get the heart rate up and take a quick shot sounds fun

Sounds cool, maybe use scenarios since it will be hunting situations where the vitals are partially exposed adding difficulty to the shot