MOA question regarding scopes

sydsdaddy

Thanks on advance to anyone who takes the time to answer this simple question. I'm new to long range shooting per se, I am in the process of looking for a 22-250 for my daughter and I, notice when talking about scopes and rails people mention MOA. I know what MOA is but why is it incorporated into the base and or rings? What is the advantage to setting up this way? Finally is this the same as offset rings? I know a simple question but it's the only way to learn in my opinion. God Bless.

it is so you have more adjustment to shoot farther. with a 20 moa rail you will be zeroed closer to the middle or bellow depending on what scope you are running

sydsdaddy, I have a Savage FVSS .22-250 with a 20 moa 1 piece base, 6-18x40 Nikon Buckmaster. The 20 moa base allows me to shoot out past 800 yards, without it, I would not be able too. Also, no, it is not the same as offset rings. I don't know how far you are wanting to shoot, but at the range 600 yards is considered Mid-Range and I believe 800 - 1000 is Long-Range. I'm not trying to be a smartaleck, just thought I'd let you know.

sydsdaddy, I have a Savage FVSS .22-250 with a 20 moa 1 piece base, 6-18x40 Nikon Buckmaster. The 20 moa base allows me to shoot out past 800 yards, without it, I would not be able too. Also, no, it is not the same as offset rings. I don't know how far you are wanting to shoot, but at the range 600 yards is considered Mid-Range and I believe 800 - 1000 is Long-Range. I'm not trying to be a smartaleck, just thought I'd let you know.