March or NF

I have had them both. One is big and heavy the other is not. Capabilities are about the same. If your concerned about weight, March, if not, NF. I would say the view is a little better with the NF but its not a 10x multiplier.

I've never owned or handled a March. I have 2 ATACRs. A 7-35 and a 5-25 and I like them both. They definitely have some heft to them like Alex said.

I've had no experience with any of the NF scopes but I have got a March 2.5-25 x 42 and it is a great scope. My first March got damaged and I returned it to Japan for repairs as it needed a new tube, sad story. March sent an email stating the cost and I said go ahead. They sent me a brand new scope and covered the cost of freight from Japan to NZ. Great customer service.

The March will do everything the ATACR will do in a more compact package. The March is unbeatable for a top tier lightweight optic.

When you research the March warranty, make sure you fully understand why the warranty is five years. Japanese export laws being what they are, five years is max. That said, there is now a US service center in WA that will repair beyond the advertised five year warranty and it's much faster than shipping to Japan.

For comparison sake, S&B only offers a two year warranty, but few question it even though we're talking about similar quality optics.

Last edited:
I have 5 Nightforce scopes right now...none of which is an ACATR. One 12-42 BR, Two 12-42 NSX, One 8-32 NSX, and one 5.5 - 22 NSX. I took a good look through a March back at the 2008 IBS 1000 Nats in Ohio. I don't even remember what it was.....10-60 maybe? Anyway, I do remember being impressed!! I have never even looked through an ATACR.

I know about the differing weights between the two brands and the warrante issue with the march. The cost will be within a couple hundred bucks, so tomato, tomato.

Just wondering if there is much difference in glass quality, resolution, and "dialabillity".

Thanks,
Tod