magneto V1 problem

Discussion in 'Equipment Discussions' started by 87predator, May 12, 2014.

  1. 87predator

    87predator Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Ok guys, let me start by saying I love mine. I've used it before with no problems, but my new rifle showed up and can not get any readings. It is an aluminum tensioned 1" dia. My first thought, it is too big. I'm 22 cal 75gr H-BTHP. If that is the case, would the V3 solve this, and can I still use it for my sporter barrel rifles?

    Thanks gents.
     
  2. Barrelnut

    Barrelnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,978
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    I use the V1 with 1" bull barrels. To get readings, I have to adjust the trigger threshold for the sensors. Threshold range is (2-20). I use 005 for 1" barrels and it works fine.

    Also the V1 comes with two different rubber shims that set the distance of the bayonne from the barrel. I use the smaller one for bull barrels.
     
  3. dig

    dig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    671
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Have never had to use the trigger setting but glad to hear about that option. The provided shims seem to work great. Just check your spacing to the bore with the guide provided. Also call if issues great people to work with.
     
  4. FearNoWind

    FearNoWind Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Forgive my ignorance, but what is "an aluminum tensioned 1" dia."?
     
  5. 87predator

    87predator Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Instead of being carbon fiber tensioned, it is tensioned with an aluminum tube, and it is 1 inch in diameter.