Is it me or the brass?

Pharmseller

I recently bought a thousand fully processed military .223/5.56 cases. The pockets were swaged, they claimed, to remove the crimp.

So I go to prime the cases with CCI 400 primers but the primers were really hard to seat. It felt like a two-step process, as if the primer had to get past an obstruction before seating. When I examined the seater, I found these:

IMG_0302_zps3ql7orbp.jpg

Little crescents of brass shaved from the primer pockets.

I have no experience with military cases, but it seems to me the primer pockets haven't been swaged properly. I'm willing to accept that I'm doing something wrong, but when I swapped out the military cases for some of my prior brass the primers seated smoothly.

So is it me or the brass?

P

As with all reloading, you have to trust yourself and your components. What I mean is you used the proper techniques, and have the information. When something doesn't work, you find out the problem. Your information is one new component is giving you problems, using the same methods you switched that one new thing out to what did work. Your problem went away.

Trust yourself. Now take your "processed" brass and run a chamfer tool in the primer pocket, and you're primer should slide right in.

I would most definitely say the crimp isn't completely removed. Good problem solving.

SHM

I have ordered several thousand rounds from brass bombers and will find several that were not properly swaged, I just set them aside and swaged them myself later.

I repurpose A LOT of Lake City 5.56 range pickup brass for my 5.56's and to make cases for my .300 BLK. I've found a lot of times with heavily crimped primer pockets, simply swaging isn't enough for primers to seat properly. Same goes for Lake City 7.62x51 cases, as well.

Buy one of these, chuck it in a drill, spin it for a couple seconds while applying pressure on the case, you're ready for priming your cases...