Inconsistent Velocity

geraldhawaii

Hello to all you reloaders. I need some advice. I have a 7mm Rem Mag in Tikka T3 Lite Stainless steel barrel. I have been reloading for this rifle for at least 10 years with a Nosler Partition 160 grain bullet, with Federal 215 Primers, and 63 grains of H4831sc. Used all manual specs, 3.29 overall length. Consistently shoots at 5/8 inch groups. Used regular redding dies.

Well wanted to see if I could shrink the grouping. Went to new Winchester brass. Went to 3.31 Overall length (overall length measured with Hornady gauge was 3.32). Powder charge stayed at 63 grains, with federal 215 primer. Purchased and used the Redding Master Hunter Die set. Also annealed and full resized the brass. Group spread to 1.25 inches. The velocity was totally inconsistent. 2621fps, 2672fps, 2716fps, 2724fps, 2732fps, 2737fps, 2744fps; (Caldwell Chrono was utilized for velocity) over 100fps difference between the fastest and slowest velocity. Powder charge was done on a RCBS charge master, and confirmed by RCBS M500 mechanical scale. Upon close inspection of the necks, of the fired and unfired brass (suspected the inconsistent velocity was due to neck tension issues) noticed light striations going vertically on the case neck. This must've happened during the resizing. Would this affect velocity. Any suggestions would be welcomed, as this has never happened to me.

Aloha,

The new Winchester brass is getting fire formed to your chamber. That's the new variable you have.
Annealing the new Winchester brass may have caused those marks on the neck. I would just polish those with steel wool.
Make sure your dies are cleaned and use a good resizing lube.
Shoot the rest of your new brass, then, start back with some more load development.
That 2700 fps velocity is way slow. That bullet should be doing 2900 or more. Just start with a new ladder test and see where pressure signs show and call that your max charge.
Then work in the velocity nodes.