how would you set up?

rem243

im looking for ideas of how to set up on top of this "hill"(in my ranch) for coyote hunting... (we have never shot anything from up top) i am fairly new to predator hunting and have always wanted to hunt from there. this weekend i was out there using hand calls but nothing came in... it seems to me that the sound spreads out to much and the coyotes dont quiet know where to look. my brothers and i have had great success with hand calls so i know that is not the problem. the satellite picture has a pin, a red and a green circle. pin would be up on top of the hill, red circle(dirt road) is about 100+/- yrds out, green circle (cross road) is about 500+/- yrds.

i hope to go out next week again with new ideas to try.
any idea is helpful thanks

Attachments

• rancho 2011-12 loma.jpg
    rancho 2011-12 loma.jpg
    153.6 KB · Views: 127
  • Predator Hunting 2013...scouting.jpg
    Predator Hunting 2013...scouting.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 110
  • loma rancho.jpg
    loma rancho.jpg
    112.1 KB · Views: 131
First, if you don't have the wind in your favor, don't even bother...(but that should be a given)
2nd, coyotes would prefer to not travel up a hill to inspect a noise, so you're going to get a lot of coyotes stopping out there between 100-500 and just looking. They have cover, plenty of cover, and they will circle that hill side to the downwind area before they will just head up the hill.

That type of set up is better for an e-caller where you can put it 50-100 yds down that first road, and hope to coax a predator into circling where you can still see it.

Not saying it won't work, but you're not going to have very good luck unless the conditions are prefect...especially when they have the element of cover working in their favor...despite your elevation advantage.

I would make sure the wind is in my face or a cross wind.