Help picking a 280 ackley rifle

SamuelBerryhill308

Hello all Im looking for recommendations for a factory rifle in 280 ackley improved ive been researching this cartridge for the past two or three years and ive been going back and forth between it and the good ol 30-06 but I believe I've settled on the 280 ackley but im not sure what rifle to get it in. I would love to have a custom built but its not in the budget at this time with another little one on the way but if I end up liking it as much as I think I will I will build a custom later on.anyways help me pick a factory rifle in 280 ackley. I like the way Christensen ridge lines feel in my hand but I know they are hit and miss. I've looked at savage ultra lites and I do like them but hate the stock. Haven't put my hands on much else so any input would be appreciated thanks again God bless

You have info on the cartridge, but what do you want in a rifle, light weight, fast twist, short, long, etc? What do you want to do with it. Those questions help answer your questions. I ask because as an example some 280ai's have a faster twist than others to shoot heavies or heavier mono's. I bought the browning xbolt speed long range with a faster twist intending to shoot heavy and it wasn't where I wanted it to be speed wise. Currently my son hunts with it shooting 140 grain absolute hunters at 3200+fps and does really well and i moved to a 7prc to get where i wanted. Also use the search function someone just went through some of the same questions recently.