Have I Master Precision Reloading?

CaptnC

I bought a Magneto Speed a couple months ago, but have not had much of a chance to test many loads. Most of it has been shooting my 6.5 Grendel's making sure I was not over my target velocity because I'm new to reloading gasser's. Sp that has been something that has worried me because they are on AR platforms. Nothing good comes from over pressure high velocity loads in AR's.

That said I had noticed one of my Grendel loads was right on velocity and the ES and SD were single digit. Well I checked that again to ES 5 SD 10 out of my 18" and another load for my 20" came in ES 10 SD 5. I know that is not exactly single digit, but that's really close.

The 6.5 Creedmoore was really hopping velocity wise with the SD 8 and the ES 17...I know a little outside single digit but again, that's very close.

Then the 6.5X284 had one load that was really sweet SD 3 ES 7. The velocity was about 75FPS slower than I wanted but still...I was impressed!

OK...now for the bad news none of those loads were "Oh wow!" groups! At least not with me behind the rifle. I only shoot at 200yds, but the groups are not what I would like for them to be.

I admit I have target panic from hell. Today I even said I was determined not do it today. The first shot from one of my AR's missed stripping a case. I'm surprised I have never snapped a trigger off!

Well the cussing at myself began because I felt like it was going to be a prefect shot right up until the gun didn't go bang! And this is the reason I don't do ladder tests...who know when I'm going to snap a trigger off!

Low SDs tell me that I have a good primer, powder and case capacity combination. Poor accuracy with low SDs tells me that I need to look at other bullet designs and weights.

Any SD below 7 to 9 is good and below 5 is great. work on finding a different brand of bullet in the same weight, and when you find one that shoots best, try different seating depths to tweak the accuracy.