good PRECISION reloading book?

RDM416

I know this has probably been discussed before. I did a quick search and found lots of stuff on general or beginning practices but not really anything on advanced techniques.

I am not a novice at reloading as I have been doing it for 25+ years. But I am a novice at true precision reloading. As I am beginning to stretch my shooting out to 1000+ yards, I know I need to be more precise in my loading.

What I have not been able to find is a book that has all those tricks that BR and other competition guys use to make sure their ammo is the best it can possibly be. A few days ago I saw a post about seating bullets with multiple short strokes and rotating the case in the process. The reason for this over just seating a bullet with a single stroke is obvious, I had just never heard of it before. My question is, how many other little tricks like this do precision loaders use that like that one I have never heard of?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Thanks in advance for any help pointing me in the right direction guys!

I think that what you'd find is, rather than any kind of consensus, only one guy's opinion. One guy who happened to be astute enough to get his words into print.

This guy---> http://www.6mmbr.com/schatz1000.html Sort of re-wrote some of the rules to suit himself and ended up setting a world record. He admittedly does not neck turn brass, and he doesn't uniform primer pockets!

Most of the body of knowledge in competition handloading is just handed from one guy to the next, and assumed to be gospel. As it is said, you can tell a lie often enough and folks will begin to believe it.