First Bedding Job

beandip

Well this is the first rifle i'll be bedding. I have zero experience. I've read countless articles and discussions on how to do it and think I have the basics on how to do it and make it work. It seems to be all in the prep work (correct me if I'm wrong). Any advice is more than welcome. Kinda nervous but it's a beater stevens 200 in .30-06 so if I screw it up I won't be completely disappointed. Also, I see a lot of people saying they use Devcon, but Acraglass is readily available at my local gunshop. Is there any disadvantage to using that instead? Anyway, I'm starting my prep work tonight. I have pillars on order from Brownells so I have to wait for those so I have some more time to gather some info. Any help is much appreciated.

I did my first one last year. Used JB Weld and was VERY nervous......
pretty simple deal when it's done but you sure do worry. After I used shoe polish for a release agent I sprayed the action down with 1shot case lube. Take your time and it'll be fine.

I just put a new stock on my 22-250. I've always used Acraglass gel up to this point and always have had good results. This time I tried out Devcon Plastic Steel, I'm not using Acraglass any longer. The Devcon is tough stuff, and damned hard when it cures.

Clean up with Devcon is easy too, soap and water while it's still puddy, plenty of paper towels and Qtips too.

I followed this guys routine as best I could
Stress-Free Pillar Bedding within AccurateShooter.com

Biggest thing is to figure out how to block all the holes so nothing gets in the threads or in the action. Other than that release agent and dont worry to much just take your time.