Feedback/Advice for 300 WM loading noob

AccuracyAddict

Morning all,

I have been reloading for about 6 years for target shooting with short action cartridges and heavy barrels. However, I just picked up what will be my primary hunting rifle last week with the following specs:

Rem 700 LH action
ER shaw #3 1:10 at 24" + muzzle break in 300WM
Manners. MCS stock w/90% carbon fill
Hinged Floorplate BDL bottom metal
Timney 510 trugger
Seekins 20moa base
Vortex precision matched rings
Vortex HS 4-16x44 w/MOA reticle.

Took it to the range last weekend and was just getting a feel for it shooting some old factory Winchester 180 gr powerpoints. I had previosuly cleaned the barrel and after fouling, it shot a .352" 3 shot group at 100 yards, but that was the best of the day. Barrel got hot and opened up as smaller contours do. Anywho, previous owner said it shot .75" regularly with 200 accubonds and RL-22.

I've never loaded 300WM for hunting and done load development on thinner barrels and wanted some feedback for my intended plan.

So I have some fired WW super brass that I measured headspace for. I intend to set my redding master hunter die set to use the FL sizing die to bump shoulder .002". I have some 200 gr accubonds I picked up but don't know if I want to use rl-22 or a less temp sensitive H4831sc or h1000. Anyone have advice on powder?

The next questions are regarding OAL. I did some measurements with a OAL gauge and noticed my loads would have to be 3.600" to be 0.015" off lands. It has hinged bdl bottom metal which appear to support that length but will require more powder to get desired velocities. Is there a point of diminshing returns for bullet jump vs chasing lands?

Also, for a hunting rifle what is the general consensus regarding test groups? I intend to shoot 3 and rest to allow barrel to cool. I want to simulate cold bore shots as much as possible. However, do most of you leave barrel fouled or should I clean between groups to simulate cold, clean bore?