Factory Ammo! What A Pain

Colorado Luckydog

I bought a new/used Montanna Rifle Company 7 mm mag. It came with 3 1/2 boxes of Discontinued 160 grain ammo and the Leupold scope is all dialed in for it. I need to get the Leupold CDS dial setup but I want to set it up with the ammo I'll be using regularly. I want to use the Hornady 7 mm mag 162 grain ELD-X but I can't find any at all. My buddy has one box I can use to get Leupold the numbers but I'm almost hesitant to go the route because I might not be able to find anymore of the ammo! I'm brand new to the Leupold CDS scopes but now I have one and one on the way! I need to learn fast.

Armscor, the company that discontinued the ammo won't give me the recipe for it. I was going to try and hire someone to load me a bunch of it.

I wonder how long this ammo crunch is going to last!

You can pay for custom ammo and they will need the Armscor and your rifle to find what they need to duplicate or try to duplicate. To each their own for sure, and I struggle to understand when people choose a bullet/load and that is what they are going to use. The Hornady load will be available for sure in the future just shop all over for it.

The reason I want to use the Hornady load is because I have two other rifles that are shooting close to quarter sized groups at 200 yards with the same type of ammo. Now I know I might not get the same results but I'm sure hoping I will and I feel really good about it. Any recommendations on a company that will load the custom ammo? I know they are out there but I have never done it before.

Forget the CDS dial and just have a MOA turret made if it doesn't already have one. Then your covered when you switch ammo, or when you buy a totally different lot and it's faster or slower then what you had the dial cut for. It's no different, if you can dial to a cds to the 300 mark then you can dial 3.25 moa or whatever it ends up.