Copper Foul

Slopeshunter

Recently I had a problem with copper foul in my barrel. I used Sweets 7.62 to clean it up. Fine.

The past two weekends I've gone out to the range and shot about 20 bullets each time. Each time when cleaning the gun afterwards I've ran a patch through with a bit of sweets on it and the patch is coming out with some blue on it each time.

Is this common to get foul with that frequency? Is it going to become common practice for me to be using sweets with this gun each time I clean it? I thought that sweets was something that you didn't want to use regularly.

Thanks in advance for any comments.

Without knowing what cartridge you are using (some foul more than others) I would guess you have a new factory bbl that may be a little rough. If the fouling continues to be a problem you may want to use some JB Bore Paste. Regular use of Sweets should not harm your bore, as long as it is not left in the bbl. too long.

Slopeshunter,

I am no expert on cleaning methods or barrel metalergy, but have picked up a few things through the years.

Depending on the barrel, all will pick up copper from shooting no matter whos, or how polished they are. The degree of fouling could be determined by several factors. If the bore is rough it will foul quicker than a smooth one. Depending on the jacket material used on the bullets, it may foul worse with one brand than another, as well as the speed at which your driving the same bullets.