Choosing Throat Angle for 338-06 Improved

Duvel

Hi guys!
I'm in need of some advice. I just had new Winchester 70 rebarreled to 338-06 Improved. Well, when I started to put some fire forming/barrel break-in loads together, I came to realize that there is virtually no throat in this rifle. I have to seat bullets ridiculously short to even get the round to chamber. Instead of sending the gun off to have my smith lengthen throat(which means a bit of a wait), I am going to order a Uni-Throater from Pacific Tool & Gauge. The problem here is that I have to specify what throat angle I want, and since I am no expert by any means, I need your advice on what is the best choice. Being that this rifle is mainly going to be used for plains game, I plan on using several different bullet types. However I do plan to shoot lots of smaller game at medium ranges with the 250gr Sierra Gamekings AND Matchkings(they have their time and place). So lets just assume I want a throat cut for Matchings and extreme accuracy. I know I could just call PT&G and ask Dave, but I'm particularly interested in the wealth of knowledge you guys have to offer. Also, please specify if you are stating the cone angle of the throat or cone angle/2. Thanks again!

Cody

You are absolutely correct, there is a wealth of knowledge on this forum but I certainly wouldn't pass, on any recommendation Dave Kiff gave you. He's a pretty sharp cat and knows his stuff. I'm pretty sure if you tell Dave all your particulars he will give you very sound advice. Best of luck to you with your new build.