Chest pack

cohunt

I'm looking for a small chest pack that I can use for carrying items up a ladder.

I want to carry things like a chipping hammer, small wrenches, a battery powered 4.5" grinder, a small flat piece of 1/4" thick steel. This is for carrying items while climbing a ladder, then i could tie off and grind/weld/repair etc. A leather pack would be a bonus but im open to options.

Anyone have any ideas? I can find small fly-fishing packs, holsters, handheld radio packs, etc-- but they are all really small.

I'm a mechanic by trade.
i use a tool belt on my hip, when on a ladder I swing the pouch to my front to access items safely.

I'm a mechanic by trade.
i use a tool belt on my hip, when on a ladder I swing the pouch to my front to access items safely.
Thanks for the idea, unfortunately my *** and hips are so thin that I can't carry much weight on a belt or it slips down-- suspenders help but that prevents me from swinging the pouch from side to front when needed.

Years ago my buddy's mom made us some chest pouches that she copied from VC chest mag pouches that his dad brought back from Nam. I think the originals held 4 ak mags. Ours held 25 rnd 10/22 clips and an extra Velcro pouch. Ours were denim.

Maybe find someone handy with sewing and come up with a pattern that will do exactly what you want.

Do you were a climbing/positioning harness when working at height? We have side pouches and "gut sacks/grunt bags" that clip off to our harnesses too.
20200627_164915.jpg

Do you were a climbing/positioning harness when working at height? We have side pouches and "gut sacks/grunt bags" that clip off to our harnesses too.
View attachment 235675
We wear 5 point fall harness- FR rated nomex ( for welding/ sparks etc) but they don't have the nice "seat" to actually hang from-- they are just the "safety harness" type not the working type so I can't hang from it or it starts to cut off circulation quickly.