Carbon fiber wrapped barrels

KSB209

I'm building a new rifle. I'm leaning towards a bartlein carbon fiber barrel for weight. This will be a 80-20 hunting vs target build. What are the cons and disadvantages of carbon fiber barrels?
I like the weight of the carbon but when I'm at the range how many rounds can I put down range before it heats up and isn't as accurate?
This is my first build with carbon barrel and from what I understand once the stock is built around a carbon barrel you cannot really go back to a steel barrel.
Is the barrel life that much lower then a steel barrel?
Any input on carbon vs steel would be appreciated

Some people love em some people hate em. I personally wont be spending $800+ on a barrel before machining. Add to that, that the tech is still relatively new and evolving. I don't like to be a Guinea pig with my money. If you go with a heavy carbon barrel then switch to a skinny un wrapped in the future, the only down side is looks.

I have Proof and Hells Canyon Carbon barrels and have shot some others. They shoot great, just as good as a traditional steel barrel. I've never pushed mine through a high volume in a short time but have seen other guys do it and they do seem to open up a bit more than a traditional steel barrel when subjected to a more rigorous firing schedule. The weight savings is nice and they look great. Getting a stock does leave you in the predicament of having to either get another carbon barrel, a heavy contour steel barrel, having a gap if you go to a thinner contour steel barrel or...... you get a smaller contour barrel, mix up some epoxy that closely matches the color of your stock, bed the full barrel channel and then repaint the stock to match if the epoxy doesn't match well enough for your liking after it cures