FireFlyFishing

All,

I have a few rifles that need load development. That being said, I'd really like to try some of the pricey boutique mono bullets offered nowadays. I've heard enough fan fare to convince me I should try some out. The first rifle I will work on will be a 7 REM Mag with a 1-9" twist barrel. The intended purpose for this rifle, will be general MT big game use. I'm thinking 6-800 yards max range.

That being said, I'm not sure which brand to try first. I have experience with Barnes and love them. I am not opposed to going with the 145 LRX, but I'm looking, really, to try the new stuff. I'm interested in Hammer and Cutting Edge bullets at the moment. I'm not opposed to other brands, I've just had my eye on the two list above for a while. Any other suggestions are welcome.

No, I don't want to shoot Bergers, ELDX, etc. Please keep the conversation to monos.

Thanks in advance!!!

I do shoot the LRX in my Kimber 280AI. Very accurate. I started shooting the monos when Barnes started selling the "ungrooved" offerings. Not very accurate. When they started producing the TSX line I was all over them like a duck on a junebug. I've caught a couple in but 99% produce two holes which increases the leak factor.

My experience with mono's has been limited to HH and Badlands in a 7RM on hand loaded ammo. Mine was a 9.5 twist so it limited me to lighter options. I haven't tried the HHT yet. The HH 131 was the easy button for me, but the 143 should work for your barrel.
If you need a sample pack of of HH, let me know and I'll send you a few to test.

I do shoot the LRX in my Kimber 280AI. Very accurate. I started shooting the monos when Barnes started selling the "ungrooved" offerings. Not very accurate. When they started producing the TSX line I was all over them like a duck on a junebug. I've caught a couple in but 99% produce two holes which increases the leak factor.
I'm with you Carlos. I like two holes myself.