Ballistic turrets for me?

edodd

I'm new to the idea of ballistic matched turrets. I have a few questions I live in California and I hunt the coastal range where the elevation can be up to 1500 and the tempature can range from 70 to 110 degrees. I sometime hunt in the Sierra Nevada mountains where the elevation can be up to 10000 feet and temperatures range from 20-60 degrees F. My questions are:
1) What will the differences be in using a turret made for the coastal mountains(1500ft @ 70-110degrees) in the Sierra Nevadas(10,000ft @ 20-60 degrees)?
2) Is it worth it to get a ballistic matches turret in my situation?
3) If I do get one what information should I use for the turret? As in elevation, temperature etc...
Thank you so much.

If your elevation varies by more than 3,000-4,000ft at long range it can make several inches difference in POI shift.

Depending on what powders you are using that much difference in temperatures can make quite a difference in addition to that.

To see exactly how much difference you'd need to run all your information through a ballistics calculator.

You'd be much better off plugging your data for the different elevations and temps into a ballistic calculator and printing off different drop charts for them if you want a shortcut.

If you want to be as accurate as possible then you need to carry a ballistic calculator with you in the field. There are downloadable apps for your phone or you can pick up a dedicated PDA for that purpose.

I think WR nailed it. Just get a mil or moa reticle and use a ballistic app. Then your turrets will always be correct. With the differences in density altitude you will be experiencing personally I think your matched turrets will be useless. There really aren't any shortcuts to this discipline if you want to reliably make good hits. I think you owe it to yourself and the animal to be as precise as possible and the matched turrets just ain't it.