advice on buying first nightforce

Shawn62085

Hello I am looking into buying my first nightforce for my 7mm sendero I currently have a vortex viper on it and just not happy with the clearness of the scope I have always been a firm believer in the nikon monarch but wanted to give night force a try my average shots with this gun are from 100 out to 700 I can get 1000 but never had the chance to try that far yet if anybody has any input on witch nf to look into it would be much appreciated!!!

2 questions to start with, how heavy are you willing to live with, and how many dollars are you willing to spend?

My ATACR is one I would not part with for anything. Heavy and expensive, and some new ones coming out soon.

I have no experience with their new SHV line, but some reviews should be trickling in soon.

If I was in your shoes it would be the ATACR! Love mine and they are just awesome! but understand that the $2300 isn't for everyone. if you can't swing that much no shame at all in going with an NXS at all. The SHV is a really nice scope but I just don't like the cap on cap off for dialing my turrets, but the clarity is very nice for the $1000 price tag. Let your wallet be your guide, IMHO if your a guy who will keep it forever save your money til you can get at least the NXS then buy.

I've got a PST and an ATACR. comparing them side by side, and the PST looks fuzzy with a small and tricky eyebox. Using my PST for hunting and it gets the job done every time, no complaints. But as you have noticed the optics can leave you wanting more.

ATACR is an amazing scope. Period.