Ackley Improved Education

FireFlyFishing

Hello all!

I started this thread about the .22-250 which quickly went to…get that chamber improved!
https://www.longrangehunting.com/threads/custom-22-250.355626/#post-3066278

The above thread interested me in the AI treatment of a cartridge greatly. So I'm doing research. The vid below was insightful.

What is your experience with the AI world? What is your opinion why more cartridges aren't SAMMI approved?

What cartridges have you tried and didn't think the juice was worth the squeeze?

Fire forming tricks/shortcuts?

Dies…how hard to obtain what you need? Redding seems to make many. Other ideas?

Gun smith pluses or minuses with your experience?

Can you do prefits? If so, who?

Is the case life extension a legit?

I'm a very traditional guy when it comes to cartridges. I enjoy getting what I can out of factory rifles. I've been loading for 30 years and I feel it's time to get weird. Thanks in advance!

The 22.250 ackley improved pretty well equals the 220 swift loads. In Ackley's own words he saw more improvement with the 250 savage after improving. Than any other cartridge. There was quite an increase in powder capacity because of the taper of the cartridge. The 250 savage being the parent cartridge of the 22.250. I have a 280ai and it does show some improvement with heavier bullets, over a 280. Good luck on your project. If the chambering is done right( setting the barrel back one thread). Then you can fire your regular ammo in your chamber and voila the improved case pops out.

I have a 22-250 AI and a 6.5 Sherman (basically 6.5-06 AI but with more shoulder movement). The 22-250 is a great cartridge to AI for various reasons, already stated in the previous thread.

If your barrel is chambered correctly, factory ammo should have a slight "crush fit" when chambering a round. This will ensure correct headspace.