A-Max problem?

buffalorancher

I'm going to try a long range prarie dog tomorrow at a friends ranch so today I found a good load for my 6-284 using a 105 gr A-Max and 49 gr RL-22. It shot a five shot one hole group at 100 yds going 3265 fps with no pressure signs. This was using new sized Lapua brass so I shot another 5 shot group with twice fired brass. There were 2 shots touching and then the zinger, I had one keyhole about 1/2 inch left and a half inch low. This shot chrono'd at 3272 and the next two shots completed a group that was about .3 inch. I am far from an expert and these groups are very good for me. There have been about 30 of these bullets down the barrel with no problems and it seems to me that an unstable bullet wouldn't have been so close to the other shots. Was this a bullet failure that was just a fluke or what? Should I be concerned as I was hoping to use this bullet on whitetail this fall? My rifle is a CRF M 70 with a 30 inch ABS/Rock 1-8 twist. Any input would be helpful.
Thanks
Lance

If it was just the one bullet that flew off target i probably wouldnt worry about it. The Amax is one of my favorite bullets but like any mass produced item there will be the occasional flaw. I also like the amax for a varmint bullet over alot of the berger or sierra bullets because the polymer tip ensures better expansion at low velocties than the other bullets tend to produce.

go shootin and have fun

take it easy
steve

There was nothing the bullet could have hit except maybe a bug. I'm not sure what kind of possible solution I'm looking for as I think this was something of an oddball.
Lance

You will find my friend that in most cases, a 6-284 with a 1-8 twist will be limited to around 3250 to 3300 fps with the 105 gr A-Max.