.338 RUM, prepping brass?

orangeride

I'm getting ready to start working up some long range hunting rounds, 500-800yrd type stuff with 250-300gr sierra or berger's. The only brass available is factory Rem. To be honest in not in the same league as Lapua brass. What are you guys doing to get the brass up to snuff. Right now I'm NK sizing and de-buring the flash holes and making sure there all in spec as far as length. Is it worth the time to weight sort? How about neck turning? I'm new to match type reloading. Thanks, Aaron

Do you have an accurate load to start with? If not, you will not notice the difference.

If you have an accurate load. I would take a bunch of new weight sorted Remington brass, and just run it through a full length size die. Then measure the outside neck diameter, base etc.

I would then load it and shoot it (at long range) without any further case treatment. Checking for accuracy and elevation.

I would then measure the fired brass neck diameter and base expansion. The neck measurements will help you determine neck tension and if you need to turn your necks or not. You most likely will not need to do this unless you have a special tight chamber. If you have a bushing die you may want to change bushings.

The base measurements will help you determine your running pressure limit in future.

Then you can square up the neck mouth, primer pockets and flash hole. Turn the necks if you want. Then shoot these cases again (at the same long range distance) with the same load and compare the accuracy and elevation spread of these fire formed and prepped cases, against the results that you got with the same cases earlier.

If you see a marked improvement then great. If not then look elsewhere to make improvements.