300 win mag 190 match king

Sheephuntr

Live in a small town south of Boise Idaho called M
Quick question for you veteran 300 win guys, how far off the lands should I start my load development for the Sierra 190 match Kings? My lands are at 3.509. I do not have the fancy gauge from Hornady, I used a cleaning rod and paper clips measured with Lyman dial calipers about 15 times an came up with that number 12 of the 15 times. This is my first time loading for the 300 and always in the past I went with the book dimensions on length. Any help would be wonderful!

Welcome to our Forum, for many yrs I just Blackened the bullet on a dummy round and found my lands jump that way, as a loose rule try .10 thu's jump or a lite kiss of the lands =.5thu's. off,your way ahead of me using thecleaning rod an paper clip routine , I couldn't get past that lol! happy reloading and enjoy the forums. jjmp

I've found that SMKs in general (variety of weights in 22 and 30 cal) can tolerate a good bit of jump without statistically valid variation in group size. My magazine is short on my 300, so I'm forced to run long jumps (≥ 0.05") unless I single load. I tried single loads around 0.02" off with 175 and 190 SMKs, and they performed no differently than mag length loads of ≥0.06" off.

Any particular reason your going with a 190 SMK? My 300 didn't shoot them any better than anything else (and worse than several), and there's cheaper alternatives with better B.C. Though my gun isn't a tack driver, I've got over 2000 rounds through it (on my 2nd barrel), and I'm of the opinion that the 200+ grain, tipped bullets really are better than HPBT designs.

Some options you might consider, with higher B.C.s that worked as good or better than the 190 SMK for me...

The Hornady ELD Match 208 is easily the best precision of all I've tried, and my ballistics software is spot on out to 1000+ yds.