300 RUM scope help

EFR

I'm looking for some seasoned scope advice.

I am having a 300 RUM built right now (Bartlein #3 barrel/Borden action) and am debating optics. I think I have it narrowed down to Swarovski Z5 3.5-18x44 with BDC turret, or Premier Optics light hunter 3-15x50 with mil dot reticle.

I am new to the long range game and want to get it right. I like the light weight of the Swarovski, known quality, known warranty, and I very much like the new BDC turret which can be dialed to yardage (I am aware of altitude/temperature differences and their effects on ballistics). I like the idea of being able to range and dial a number, not having to look up charts or tables, or commit to memory, especially when my target may be walking out of sight.

What I don't like about the Swarovski is the limited elevation, my calculations put me +/- 700 yards, and coarse adjustments versus dialing.

What I like about the Premier is the ability to dial into exact ranges and the mil dot reticle, which could be used for holdover. What I don't like is the weight, and, I don't know a lot about the company. There reputation as far as I can see is outstanding, but their own sight refers you to a site that does not exist.

I can't tell you how far I will be shooting to, until I work up to there. I'm trying to put together good components so I will be able to shoot far, hence, that is why I am questioning the Z5 (and its limited elevation). At the same time, I just carried a heavy barreled rifle between 8-10K' in Colorado for 8 days, and with a pack, spotter, tripod, etc, it wasn't the joy it is at the range.

Any advice or suggestions is appreciated. Thanks