300 RUM questions

ROYHUNTER05

Hey everyone,
New to the site and seeking some advice/ opinions. The forums are full of information and its been a great read but I haven't quite found what I am looking for. I am new to the long range hunting (350 yards+) and am looking at getting a gun for elk and one that will do the trick at a greater distance than 500 yards distance... for now. Now I am pretty sold on the 300RUM but am looking at which model would be best. I am not opposed of buying a stock gun and getting a couple modifications for now. Been looking pretty heavily at the model 700 sendero but was wondering what everyones thoughts were with that or maybe a cheaper model with a different stock, barrel etc or other combinations. Now I am new with the modifications to hunting rifles so any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

A Sendero in 300RUM is a great place to start. You might want to look into a semi custom if you've got a few more bucks to spend. The Christenson (sp?) Arms carbon wrapped barrel guns are nice. 10X Rifles makes some nice sticks. Len right here builds a mean stick for a fair price. My 2 Long reach toys are in 300RUM and 280AI but the 300 is a SLEDGEHAMMER at 823yds! I haven't taken any game further than that but don't feel undergunned to go further..

That's what I started out with and it is a good gun, put a trigger on it. The 300 Rum will do a number on elk. Don't short change yourself on glass buy the best you can afford, or save up and get a Nightforce. The better glass helps at long range, low light etc.

Welcome! You'll get lots of insight and opinions here. Mine is below.

If you can't afford to go custom or don't want to wait for one, the Senderos make great LR rifles. One of my rifles is a Sendero in 300 win mag with a jewel trigger and is bedded in an A3 gap camo stock. A true sub 1/2 MOA rifle with 208-210 grain pills.