30-06 Load Development

Jor1034

I'm totally new to reloading so I don't know much about it. So how do I develop a good load for my Tikka T3 22inch barrel 30-06! I have a Barnes 168g that I want to work with and figure out what I'm doing. I'm using IMR4350 or Varget. I have been testing the different powder charges but I'm having a hard time with my groups.. What's the best way to go about making a good load?

What's your gun shooting with good quality factory ammo and what sort of groups are you getting with your reloads. Are you trimming your brass?
I was shooting hornady sst 150g factory ammo! With my reloads I'm getting 2.5 groups and sometimes larger.. not good.. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.. everytime i reload I trim my lapua brass with a Wilson trimmer!

Save the Barnes for later ,their soft and smeer copper in your new bbl ,brake in your new bbl ,with some Sierra bullets ,read n read till yur eyes bleed , great site here loads of info lol, buy some reloading manuals , learn it step by step .Sierras got a help 1/800 help line , read read read ask questions ,cross reference data read read and learn from great reloaders here !thks great luck and Welcome to a Great Forum happy to have you !! My 30/06 like Varget and H4350 plus a couple others thks !!! Other members have asked manny of your same questions Please fine n read them Thks