30-06 OCW Load Development Help

stanley52

I just got back from the range and I have a relatively good problem to have. I’m not sure where my OCW node is out of the 6 loads I shot - but most charge weights shot fairly tight groups. I used new Lapua brass, 185gr Bergers .012 off the lands, CCI BR2 primers, and IMR 4451 at: 54.0, 54.4, 54.8, 55.2, 55.6, and 56.0. I used 55gr for sighters at the bottom center target. My dilemma I run into is 55.2 and 56.0 seemingly have either pulls or flyers. I am by no means an expert marksman so unidentified pulls are definitely not out of the question. Assuming 56.0 has a pull, it has the exact same POI as 55.6 - which makes me think 56.0 is the center of a node - 56.0 is already several grains higher than any listed maximum for this combo, so I’m hesitant to go any higher though there are no pressure signs except the bolt is only ever so slightly harder to lift up but by no means “sticky”. I had 2 extra 55.0 sighter shells so i shot them at the middle top target at the end, so that is why there are only two holes there. Tell me what you all thin

Attachments

• 9CE37E63-EC0A-4937-ACDE-3714B7DA996B.jpeg
    9CE37E63-EC0A-4937-ACDE-3714B7DA996B.jpeg
    448.1 KB · Views: 641
I personally would reshoot 55.2 and 56 to make sure you were not the cause of the fliers. I agree with your line of thinking. If you did not cause them I would look at 54.6.

I personally would reshoot 55.2 and 56 to make sure you were not the cause of the fliers. I agree with your line of thinking. If you did not cause them I would look at 54.6.

After further examination it appears 54.0 and 54.4 have the exact same POI then at 54.8 it shifts about 3/8"...which is really not that much but I'm not an OCW expert. There may be some potential to shoot 53.6, 54.0, 54.4, and 54.8 to see what's there.