250g Berger hunting bullet in 338 win mag

TC338

I'm new to this whole forum thing, but I'm looking for advice on loading some Berger 250's for my 338 win mag. I've got IMR-4350, R-22, and H-4831 on hand. Any advice on seating depth? Expected velocity for each powder? Right now all I have is hornady brass, any others better or worse? I'll be hunting mostly whitetail deer at ranges 500+ yards, my 308 will take care of any shots inside 500. The rifle is a TC encore with a custom built 26" bull barrel and integral brake.

Believe it or not, the 338 doesn't get the best results with 4831 or RL22, it was atrocious in my 338.
The best powder for the 338 is RL19, HANDS DOWN.
IMR 4350 is better suited than the other 2.
I would suggest looking up either the powder manufacturers data online, or the bullet manufacturer.
I cannot give you loads, I have never used Berger bullets in the 338WM, only my 338 Edge.
In my Edge, I found 2 seating depths, one jammed, which I don't like on hunting rigs, and one around the length of the bullet shank is flush with the case neck/shoulder juncture, this is .020" off the rifling in my rifle.
What throat length have you got cut?

Cheers.
gun)

MagnumManiac,
I'm fairly new to the long range game. My 338win is my first purpose built long range rifle, and it was built on a very tight budget. That's why I went with the encore, already had the frame and optic so all I needed was the barrel. To answer your question, I don't know. I've started my load development using a lock-n-load gauge. I've got my first ladder test set up using imr 4350 ranging from 61-64 grains. Bullets are seated.020 off the lands. Just waiting for cooler temps to go shoot.

Still working on my loads for my 338 win mag using h-4350. I'm loading mine to mag length so not close to the lands. Getting in the upper 2700's for speed. Can't remember the exact powder weight.