Zeiss Conquest

Ryan55555

I have been looking at a Zeiss Conquest 6.5-20 X 50 with the #43 mildot reticle to put on my recently purchased varmint gun (Rem. Model 700 VS SF II in a .204).

I am new to this long range stuff and wanting to learn with this smaller caliber, it is much cheaper to practice with.

I am interested in the Zeiss Conquest line of scopes, what are some of your thoughts on these compared to the VXIII and the Nikon Monarch X or the Bushnell 4200? I think that I can find the Zeiss for ~ $700.

Any good or bad experiences with these?

Any other recomendations for approx. the same cost?

Thanks for any input.

My opinion, I believe that the Zeiss Conquest is an outstanding scope and is optically better than the Leupold VX-III, Nikon Monarch and the Bushnell Elite 4200. I personally would take it over the other 3.

I own all three and I agree with Jon, the Zeiss is the one to pick. I have compared my Nikon and Leupold with the Zeiss at targets. The Zeiss easily wins in regards to resolution and light gathering in the evening. I have the duplex reticle and the crosshairs are thicker than the fine plex from Leupold. I have not used the mil-dot. I bought mine from the Optic Zone.

I'm in the same boat as Ryan.

How many MOA w/the Zeiss?

I'm pretty much down to the VX-III LRT 6.5-20X50 and
the Zeiss 6.5-20x50 w/the #4 ret.

Its down to the differences in turrets and amount of adjustment. The VX-III has plenty of adj. and good turrets.

I don't know about the Zeiss??????????

I agree that the Zeiss Conquest is optically superior to the Leupold VX3. There is really no comparison in light transmission.

I can't speak to the comparison with the Nikon or Bushnell Elite.

I would respect TheOpticZone's comments. Jon sells and looks through a lot of scopes.