Working up a VLD load. Which step first?

pyle762

I am new to the forum but have been lurking for a while. I have a 6.5 x 284 Savage LRH. My 140 grain Bergers are in the mail. I have a few podwers I am going to start with, R22 and Magpro. I am new to Berger VLD's and the 6.5 x 284. This rifle will be strictly for hunting.

My question is which would I be better of doing first. Should I figure how far of the lands my gun shoots best at with a middle of the road velocity load or work up a safe load using one of the powers and then fine tune the seating depth? Thanks for the help and the great info on the site.

Last edited:
There are as many styles for working up loads as there are components for assembling all the pieces to create the finished product.
I can only offer you an outline of how I approach it.
I first create a series of test loads with the powder of choice that vary by .3 grains and seat them all about .20 off the lands. When I find the load that offers the best five round group results on target I work on seating depth. I may try tweaking it with .01 grain adjustments, depending on results, but only if it's a competition load.
This method routinely gives me the results I'm looking for with the fewest number of rounds (and therefore lower cost) than some of the other methods which, while they work just as well, often require greater investment and don't provide any better data for my load development work.

I am new to the forum but have been lurking for a while. I have a 6.5 x 284 Savage LRH. My 140 grain Bergers are in the mail. I have a few podwers I am going to start with, R22 and Magpro. I am new to Berger VLD's and the 6.5 x 284. This rifle will be strictly for hunting.