Winchester Model 70 Classic action

I have no experience with the ones made in Portugal now ( i think). I have a South Carolina one, it is made well, shoots well, but they changed the trigger to the "MOA" trigger. The New Haven have the older style trigger, personally I prefer the older style.

My opinion, mid 1990's New Haven Classic are one of the finest M70 ever made.
I agree; I bought an Edge on a M70 Classic - guy said it shot great, but I would never select that action to build a LR rifle. But I have to say, this one is one of the most accurate rifles I have. Nothing fancy - Benchmark bbl, laminated "Coyote" stock, standard trigger.

My .416 Rem is a Mod 70 Classic as well.

...but I would never select that action to build a LR rifle. But I have to say, this one is one of the most accurate rifles I have. Nothing fancy - Benchmark bbl, laminated "Coyote" stock, standard trigger.

My .416 Rem is a Mod 70 Classic as well.

I have a pair of early 90s I turned into custom rifles. Both are single hole shooters. 10 years ago it was a perfectly acceptable option but you're right...I probably wouldn't use them for a custom rifle anymore...unless I already had it on the shelf and needed to make it more better.
First was a push feed that started as a long action .243 Win I turned into a 6x284 to shoot 115 Dtacs and the other is a CRF magnum I bought as a bare action and turned into a 7mm Rem mag for purely long range steel and hunting.