What do you hunt with?

Gade91

you guys use? I am just starting out and i just wanna get some insight on what kinda gun, clothes, and gear to bring.

Whatever works best for you :) I have hunted hogs with bows, knives, dogs, 30-30, 45./70, 7-08, 7 mag, 257Wby, 300 Win, 300 RUM, and 338 LM. Just make sure you are shooting a good strong bullet or broadhead. Most of my kills have been at night using solar lights and motion activated light under feeder or Hog pipe.

Alot of good infrmaiton @ wildhog hunters

In an attempt to keep my sanity (lol) I break my "hunting stuff" down into categories. For instance.....there's the clothes---figure out what you need there.
Then there's the footwear-----what kind of boots do you need?

Then, tool of choice.....bow, rifle, shotgun, etc....

Scent control if needed?
ammunition....
packing equipment---backpack, pack frame, etc...
reloading----equipment, supplies

The reason that I broke it all down to you is to show you how I try to organize my stuff so that I know what to buy, take with me, or stock up on. With wondering "what to get" like you are, I'd break it down and work on one area at a time.

got ya. Scent control is a must since hogs have a great since of smell. Their eye sight is not so good but they can detect movement. Smell is the hogs #1 defense.

1. Scent elimination like you are hunting deer
  2. Any camo will do
  3. I have a Hog box that has the following (Gutting gloves, dead sled, gimble with pulley system, butcher knives, paper towels, water source, first aid kit)
  4. Always take a pack to haul all the "must have" hunting gears (Binos, range finder, night vision, snacks, extra knives, flash lights, first aid kit, etc)

the gear all depends on what and where you plan on hunting.

what and where are you planing on going?

Thanks guys. Im in california so they are plentiful, but you still got to find them. How close up do you get up to them? do you stalk or sit and wait?