weatherby 257mag. help needed

crittrgittr

I recently purchased a 257w.m. I was wondering if anyone has any helpful reloading advice for me? I am new to this magazine and forum, so if this has already been discussed I apologize. I've got about 5-6 years of reloading and somewhat long range shooting(up to 500yds). This seems tobe a pretty good all around cartridge.

Powders: IMR 7828,H1000,RL25

Bullets: 100gr TTSX, 110gr Nosler Accubond, 115 berger VLD

Primer: Fed215M

Any of these should give you a decent start!

thanx wyo2elkhunt, are those from your experience? I am thinking about 100gr. bullet. It will be mainly for deer and on occasion a back up coyote rifle. I normally shoot hodgdon powder, but don't have to. I appreciate any more input.

Sierra 117gr
IMR 4350 (61 grains)
Fed 215M

Produces .3's and .4's all day long @100 yds. I have taken several deer and hogs out to 400 yds with this load and have had great results.

100 Grain Nosler Ballistic tip hunting
IMR4831 68 grains
Federal mag primer
3400 fps
This is a load I use but each rifle is different have to see what your rifle likes.
Mine is an Accumark with 24 in barrel.

I shoot the 100 grain Barnes ttsx at 3760 fps with 75 grains of Magpro and a cci-250 primer. 26" Mk5 wby rifle. Shoots 1 1/4" groups at a quarter mile. My son shot a 2 1/4" group at 650 yards with it last year getting ready for his antelope hunt. This is an awesome combo for deer and antelope. At that velocity the Barnes and scirroco were the only thing I could find that would stay together.

I shoot the 100 grain Barnes ttsx at 3760 fps with 75 grains of Magpro and a cci-250 primer. 26" Mk5 wby rifle. Shoots 1 1/4" groups at a quarter mile. My son shot a 2 1/4" group at 650 yards with it last year getting ready for his antelope hunt. This is an awesome combo for deer and antelope. At that velocity the Barnes and scirroco were the only thing I could find that would stay together.

What was your Coal on this load?