Velocity ?

uplander

Hello,
I have been reloading for a couple of years now and I recently purchased a chronograph. I tested some of my 7mm mag loads this weekend and I'm not getting anywhere near the value printed from load manual. I'm shooting a stock Howa 7mm with a standard barrel. My load is 64.1gn RE-22, CCI250, and 168 gr Berger touching the lands. I'm getting about 2750-2760 fps out of this load. I tried some at 65 grns and that is giving me about 2800. 65 is the max stated from Berger with RE22. Now, I realize that the barrel that generated that out of quickload with 24 or 26 inches and I'm sure it was a custom barrel. The max stated load based on that data is 3,000 fps. I'm not seeing any pressure signs and the primers all look good at 65 grains out of mine. I'm just looking for a little advice as to what is going on or if I can push the loads any more.

Thanks,
Justin

I'd say you have room for a bit of increase in velocity.

I don't know what you call pressure signs? Pressure signs for me begin with sticky extraction and/or an extractor mark on the case head. These indication should indicate pretty high pressure. Higher than an sensible :rolleyes: person would wish to approach.

When increase in velocity increases are get pretty small for an increase in powder weight its another indication that its time to not increase charge weight any further.

These are pretty poor indicators, that is, not reliable or possibly even "safe" and definitely not laboratory quality but they R indicators.

Use your own judgement but don't be as silly as me.:rolleyes:

Unless you are harvesting animals at more than 600 yds or so it doesn't make that much difference anyway.......