Testing Reloads Shooting Scenario's

DennisPA

I'm new to shooting for more then just plinking and reloading. My question is when you are ready to try out you latest recipe for reloads what is the scenario that you shoot to. Here is two that I have tried and I'm wondering if I'm way off base.
Scenario #1 I would start with a cold clean bore fire a three shot group in about a 3-5 minute time frame. Clean the bore and let the rife rest for 15-20 minutes.
Scenario #2 I would start with a cold clean bore fire a shot. Clean the bore and let the rifle rest for 15-20 minutes. Then repeat 2 more times for a total of three shots in about an hour.

My questions Senario#1 This is how I've always shot to check my groups, but are the 2 consecutive shots valid from a measuring group size stand point? I can see from a hunting stand point knowing were that 2nd & 3rd shots are going to be if you need to take them. But from the stand point of load development are they valid? What do you all do and why? Thanks

Personally, I shoot 3-5 shots per test, then let the barrel cool. I don't usually clean between tests but have in the past. Instead, now I clean somewhere between 20 and 50 rounds down the barrel.

Depends on what exactly we want to test, and you'll find many versions and opinions on this subject. If we're testing cold clean barrel accuracy, then that's a different story.