Temperature Sensitivity/Insensitivity

300winnie

Is this more marketing hype than truth?

From what I can read, a lot of people are saying that RL22 is one of the most temperature sensitive powders there is, yet I did a poll on the a/r site to see what the favorite powder is for the .300 Winchester Magnum and as of the time I am writing this post 61% of the voters preferred RL22. The other 39% was spread out over 3 other popular powders (H1000, H4831/H4831SC, and IMR 4350) in pretty equal distribution. It is not a large sample, but it mirrors what I have read on these sites for a long time.

So, if RL22 is so sensitive, why is it so popular in comparison to the so-called temperature insensitive powders such as H1000 and H4831?

I am tempted to buy a jug of RL22 to try, but want to sort through some of the mumbo jumbo first.

Thanks.

I have been shooting RL22 in my 300 win mag for about 10 years now and it has been the most accurate powder in my rifle for the entire time. I have shot probably 8 or 9 different lots of RL22 through it and have used the gun to kill everything from prairie dogs in the middle of July to elk in January.

From this, I can tell you that even the slower lots of RL22 that behaved more like RL25 still preferred the same charge as the faster lots which is 75.5 grains with 180 grain bullet. These slow lots sometimes were 150 feet per second slower but still shot same p.o.i. and accuracy was identical. All I had to do was adjust my drop charts.

So, I always loaded the same charge, but in cold weather my charts had to be adjusted slightly and same for hot weather.

I kept detailed notes of weather when I was chronographing it and compared them in similiar temps from year to year.

When I have a hunt coming up, I will go out a few days before the hunt and chrono it while shooting at 1k yards to make sure I have good info to plug into my ballistics program.