Switching up the Bino/RF system (Possibly)

Huntnful

Just decided to test out a new optics system.

I currently use: Zeiss 10x42RF's & Swaro 15x56 SLC HD's. Along with a Swaro STS 20-60X80HD.

New setup: Gunwerks Revic BR4 rangefinder & Swaro 12X42 NL pures. Along with the same spotter.

The new optics should be arriving soon, and I will give them a diligent test along side my old system to see if the switch is worth it. I'll let you guys know! I'd save 35oz of weight and the added bulk of the 15's in my pack. Looking forward to testing them out!!

Love to hear your view on the new Revic BR-4. I am looking to upgrade my Kilo 2400.
I've been using Swaro 10x42 EL's for many years and had no reason to change although the NL Pures are probably better, I'm afraid to look through them!
35oz is a lot of weight!

I found that the 12x50 EL's were the best compromise for me as I was also going from Leica 10x42 HD-B RF and 15x56 SLC but I didn't use the 15x that much and the 12x seemed the best all around power. If I need more power I go to the spotter. I used the Kilo 2400ABS for range and sometimes as a monocular instead of pulling out the binos. I would love to compare the 12x42 Pures against the EL12x50 at dusk to see the low light performance of the smaller objective.

Received the BR4000 rangefinder today. Pretty sweet little unit. The "base wind" is a legit feature. It gives ultra fast ranges and ballistic corrections. The glass is OKAY. But you can't really expect too much from 10X monocular with a 25mm objective. I'll be testing it in early morning first light tomorrow to do some final drop verification for my hunting load this season. Haven't received the NL's yet. But the rangefinder is an acceptable piece of equipment so far for sure.

This will be a real test. Because I love my current setup. It's just heavy and bulky.

83BA9274-3EAF-44A8-A033-F20AA88352D6.jpeg