Stocks vs. Chassis

mfran615

I am new to assembling custom rifles. I just finished a .223 recently with a McMillan A5. I am now working on a 7 SAUM for the range. I greatly prefer the looks of a nice stock such as the A5, but I see the majority of long range shooters using chassis systems now. Why exactly is that? I may be able to be talked into a chassis, but I just don't love how they look.

Some like the look of a chassis. Also, the adjustability is usually better, for the most part. On the range, I can see the advantages. But I don't do that kind of shooting. Every gun I have hunts. So I prefer a stock for the handling, I guess. Or I'm just old.
That makes perfect sense. My next build will be a mountain rifle, but this build is strictly for the range. Some prefer function over form, but I'm not sure I can get passed the looks of a chassis.

Get a Foundation stock and have the best of both worlds........
Those look very nice, and just a tad more expensive than a McMillan. I just got my first McMillan about 6 weeks ago and am very impressed with it. How do Foundation stocks compare?

Personal preference. I like a stock myself and use the Manners with the mini chassis so I get the best of both worlds. I can bolt in and go like a chassis but have the stock feel. Take a look at them as an option too. No need for bedding or buying bottom metal so factor that into price.

That makes perfect sense. My next build will be a mountain rifle, but this build is strictly for the range. Some prefer function over form, but I'm not sure I can get passed the looks of a chassis.
Some chassis out there made of lightweight materials can be fully adjustable and under a pound and a half. That's less weight than some of the lightest offerings from high end stock makers. And it's a chassis system so adjustable and swap able between actions, at home at the range or in the field.