Smallest Diameter Barrel and Length

Triple BB

I have a 300 RUM, looking at changing out the barrel. Going with a Bartlein on reviews and my smith's recommendations. Wanting to be accurate to at least 1200 yards on this rebuild. This will also be a mountain rifle, so weight is a small consideration.

What would be a minimum length recommendation and barrel diameter to accomplish what I'm looking at?

A #2 if chrome moly is okay, if not then a #2B in stainless. I think they only come in 24" also, and with a RUM you need at least a 26" barrel.

Those for lightweight/mountain rifle barrels, neither I would recommend for 1200 yard shooting, you need two rifles or lessen up your expectations.

I am no expert but I do like to read info on precision shooting, so I read the PRB all the time...even though they are not shooting a big mag most are shooting 26' barrel with a diameter of at least .800

From everything I've read it is easier to catch a node with a bigger barrel...it reduces vibration.

In 2015 Bartlein was number one so you are for headed in the right direction for accuracy.

Triple BB,

If 1" at 300 yards for three shots is good for you you can go with .65" on a 28" if they are as good as Douglas.:) Mine and my son-in-law's are 7-.300 Weatherby.

There are so many opinions some that backed up with repeatable data are truths.

Not disputed: 26 is much better for a RUM less and you can achieve the same with smaller case capacity cartridges.
Not disputed: thicker is better for repeating/follow up shots and if you are going to spend lots of range time at 1,200 yards.
Not disputed: The above two if followed will add weight to the rifle.

Now I'll switch to my opinion mode so you know to ignore the rest.

If it were me, I would not use a RUM for a mountain rifle. I love and have multiple. Absolutely no question that less that 26" barrel is not optimal, creates insane recoil and muzzle blast. It all comes out heavier that most want.