scope problem

shooter53

just wondering if you guys have an answer, A friend of mine has a scope i think its a hawke if he alters windage, his height of POI changes any thoughts as ive heard other shooters have had this

could be a bad scope . if the scope is not set up true to the rifle , will cause this too . a tall target test will show this .

another article worth reading .

could be a bad scope . if the scope is not set up true to the rifle , will cause this too . a tall target test will show this .

another article worth reading .

thanks it makes sense as soon as we get a windless day i shall sort it stay safe, shooter53

I have been using a Hawke Sidewinder for 10 years or so. So far there has not been any issue with it. I've had it on three different rifles. It's still in use today.

It may have a lifetime warranty. Check the model with Hawke.

Like others said, First thing to always check, is the scope mounted level and correctly! My first scope, a couple of lifetimes ago, mounted at the "sporting goods store" where I bought it, was mounted 90 degrees off.
If it is mounted correctly, then it would have to be the scope.

I have been using a Hawke Sidewinder for 10 years or so. So far there has not been any issue with it. I've had it on three different rifles. It's still in use today.

It may have a lifetime warranty. Check the model with Hawke.
hi thanks, im going to try what jimbires suggested to make sure the scope is plumb

just wondering if you guys have an answer, A friend of mine has a scope i think its a hawke if he alters windage, his height of POI changes any thoughts as ive heard other shooters have had this
When he alters it...does it go up and left one way...and down and right if he goes the opposite direction? If so Jimbires has given you the answer....I had this happen and after extensive time and expenses...discovered it was the one piece 140.00 base that was canted...check the bases...not just the scope.

Last edited: