Sako A7 accuracy issue

Holycity73

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
504
Location
Charleston SC
No, this dead horse is yet to be beaten enough.
I have a brand new Sako A7 in 25-06 which refuses to group better than 2 inches. This is with everything from Federal blue box to Sako brand. With 100 rounds down range and several cleanings, I’m at wits end.
Before I call Baretta USA and become one more schmuck that they treat poorly, does anyone have any insight or experience with this issue?

All action screws, rings and bases are torqued to Spec. Optic is a Bushnell LRHSi cortesy of GA Precision. Shooting from a front rest and rear bag.

I have another A7 in 270 that’s shoots 3/4” groups and a .243 Finnlight that consistently shoots in the .3s with Fusion.
 

Rhovee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
996
I had an A7 and it didn’t shoot any better than a Tikka. I would check the crown. Mine shot the HSM Berger loads the best.
 

Slick8

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
507
Location
The Republic of Texas
I had an a7 stainless fluted barrel in 25-06 that would struggle to do 2 inches. I did much the same in ammo, checked all attachments, swapped scope and even had another shooter try it.

I emailed Beretta and they said to send it back for evaluation. They inspected and shot it to verify what I was saying.

They then wrote saying they couldn't find another a7 such as mine in American inventory so they sent me a mod 85 finnlight.

No complaints from me.
 

Bruce Jarrett

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
3
Location
Hamilton, New Zealand
No, this dead horse is yet to be beaten enough.
I have a brand new Sako A7 in 25-06 which refuses to group better than 2 inches. This is with everything from Federal blue box to Sako brand. With 100 rounds down range and several cleanings, I’m at wits end.
Before I call Baretta USA and become one more schmuck that they treat poorly, does anyone have any insight or experience with this issue?

All action screws, rings and bases are torqued to Spec. Optic is a Bushnell LRHSi cortesy of GA Precision. Shooting from a front rest and rear bag.

I have another A7 in 270 that’s shoots 3/4” groups and a .243 Finnlight that consistently shoots in the .3s with Fusion.
No, this dead horse is yet to be beaten enough.
I have a brand new Sako A7 in 25-06 which refuses to group better than 2 inches. This is with everything from Federal blue box to Sako brand. With 100 rounds down range and several cleanings, I’m at wits end.
Before I call Baretta USA and become one more schmuck that they treat poorly, does anyone have any insight or experience with this issue?

All action screws, rings and bases are torqued to Spec. Optic is a Bushnell LRHSi cortesy of GA Precision. Shooting from a front rest and rear bag.

I have another A7 in 270 that’s shoots 3/4” groups and a .243 Finnlight that consistently shoots in the .3s with Fusion.
I own a Sako A7 in .243 Calibre. I use Hornady 95gn SST Factory Ammo. Zeiss 3-9 x 40 Scope. The best I got on the 100m target shot off a makeshift bench was three bullets through the same hole at 9 power. One thing I have done is treat the rifle with Froglube, I use nothing else.
 

Riflehunter1776

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,047
Sako A7 Roughtech, 3006
crappy accuracy.
would not recommend to anyone. I have had ancient Sako barreled mosin nagants which shot better.
 

Deviant

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
525
Location
Nebraska
I have had two and both will now shoot .5 MOA or better all day but I reload and run berger hybrids in the .308. It is an A7 Roughtech and when I was developing the load for it I noticed it had a first round flier every time. After the first shot it would put the next 4 rounds in a .75 inch group at 200 yds. I pulled it apart and glass bedded it and torqued the screws to 50 in lbs. Now it shoots great.
 

Holycity73

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
504
Location
Charleston SC
I have had two and both will now shoot .5 MOA or better all day but I reload and run berger hybrids in the .308. It is an A7 Roughtech and when I was developing the load for it I noticed it had a first round flier every time. After the first shot it would put the next 4 rounds in a .75 inch group at 200 yds. I pulled it apart and glass bedded it and torqued the screws to 50 in lbs. Now it shoots great.
50? Wow.
 

Holycity73

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
504
Location
Charleston SC
I own a Sako A7 in .243 Calibre. I use Hornady 95gn SST Factory Ammo. Zeiss 3-9 x 40 Scope. The best I got on the 100m target shot off a makeshift bench was three bullets through the same hole at 9 power. One thing I have done is treat the rifle with Froglube, I use nothing else.
My finnlight does that.
 

Deviant

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
525
Location
Nebraska
Yeah I played with it for awhile and thats what ended up working the best for me. When I called Beretta they said 15 in lbs of torque and I figured the guy was smoking something. I couldn't find any factory specs for this model so I had to experiment a little.
 

KamoAggie

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
38
Location
Texas
I have a Sako A7 Roughtech Pro in 7RM. 3 years old. I shoot HSM Ammo with Berger 168grain vld. It is consistently .5 or better. One of the better shooting rifles I have ever owned.
 

jaybo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
130
Location
Louisiana
If all screws are good and tight, try replacing the scope with a proven scope and see what happens. Even if it is a brand new scope it could be bad and not holding zero. I have had a few that had to go back and one that was brand new. Once they were reworked, problem solved.
 

Deviant

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
525
Location
Nebraska
If all screws are good and tight, try replacing the scope with a proven scope and see what happens. Even if it is a brand new scope it could be bad and not holding zero. I have had a few that had to go back and one that was brand new. Once they were reworked, problem solved.
That is a good point. I had thad that happen years ago with a brand new Nikon. It cost me the biggest mule deer I have ever seen in Nebraska. I sighted it in the day before rifle season and on opening day missed the giant buck at less than 150 yards. I shot the gun again that day and couldn't hit a 24" square target at 100 yds. I checked all mounting hardware and tried again and had the same issue. Turns out the scope was flawed from the factory.

Al
 

MZMpac

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
24
I had an A7 Roughtech in a 300WM. That thing tormented me for 9 months. I could not get it to shoot better than 1 MOA with factory ammo (Nosler, Fed premium, etc), and with hand loads the best I could get was was 3/4 - 1 MOA with any consistency.

Scope and rings mounted to the right torque, leveled, even had it professionally bedded.

My gunsmith suggested I have the barrel stress relieved, but at that point I just accepted it was "good nuff" for hunting but not a true long range gun. I eventually sold it.
 

Trending threads

Top