Remington 700 Long Range - 25-06

WVGodsCountry

Hello Gentlemen,

I purchased a Remington 700 Long Range with 26" bbl approx 1 month ago. Went out yesterday and tried to work up a load for her and didn't have much success. I'm not an expert shooter or reloader so there is a HIGH probability that some of the variance in bullet placement has to do with my abilities. Also, yesterday was the first time the gun had been shot, so the bbl was broken in by shooting once, cleaned with Butch's bore cleaner, and allowed to rest for approx 15 minutes between each shot.

Using 100 grain Nosler Ballistic Tips, I started out with 54.4 grains of RL 22, then went to 55.5 grains, and finished up with 56.5 grains. The majority of these loads resulted in 1 inch groups. We then tried 3 rounds of RL 19, which led to the same results.

So my questions are: are any of you reloading 25-06 using 100 grain Nosler Ballistic tips out of a 26" bbl? If so, what type of powder are you having success with? What type of accuracy should I expect from this $750 rifle?

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    145.1 KB · Views: 481
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    164.3 KB · Views: 609
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    173.5 KB · Views: 448
I can't help you with that round but,
I just picked up. A 7mag in this . I believe this gun is the better deal compared to sendero. I hope mine shows better results!
I reload, I try and keep tolerances tight. Did you use a caol gauge ? I start at like 5 thousandth off and load about five, then load some at 10,15,20 thousandths off lands. I usually find a group in there thats shoots great. Then theres different powder grain increments and so on. But you should be able to watch your groups get worse/better then tweek it.