Recoil

McDewbie

I have looked about 20 pages in on this forum (basics starting out) and another one I cant remember and I can't find any info on recoil. I have found a basic table, Rifle Recoil Table and a calculator to find out roughly what your recoil is Recoil Calculator just remember that this calculator and table are the mathematically correct amounts and are NOT what you are feeling. With that said I am a novice, to say the least, of a LRH, so any info from people who aren't would be greatly appreciated (I'm sure someone is going to find this helpful besides just me). Also wondering if anyone has some ideas to up the weight of a gun, without destroying it structurally, so as to reduce mathematical recoil. I would like to forget about the effect recoil pads have as that is my "whoops my math was off" contingency. I so far have heard of drilling holes into the butt of the rifle and putting fishing weights into it, recoil reducers you put in the stock that spread out the total recoil time and make it more bearable, and wrapping the barrel of your rifle with lead solder and ten shrink wrapping it in place (although I have no idea what kind of effect this would have, arent barrels better if they arent touching anything?). Any info you can help will help me, and hopefully others.
Thanks, Evan

McDewbie,

There are various ways to deal with recoil. The various recoil tables will simply tell you "how much" recoil a given load/rifle combination will have. Useful information, but it only goes so far.

First of all, it is important to manage recoil well in a LR hunting rig for a variety of reasons. If your rifle kicks the snot out of you, you will not shoot it much, you will develop a "flinch" and you simply will not shoot it well. Although not necessary, it is also good to be able to get back on the scope quickly enough to see your bullet impact.