Re-Chambering 243 Question

novaman64

The rifle I am asking about is a Remington 700 SPS Varmint...

I am relatively new to this, my plan was to drop my rifle off to the gunsmith and have him shorten the factory barrel (only has 200rnds through it, and shoots extremely accurate) from 26" to 24" and have it fluted, trying to shave some weight off the rifle, plus it feels really front heavy to me right now.

My question is can the 243 chamber be cut so that its a 243AI? I was looking at ballistics and I think it would be cool to make it an AI (I only have 1 rifle, used for pigs, coyotes and deer)... The other question is that can I use my 243 cases and just reform them?

You did the right thing by questioning the shooters on this site...

Just a couple of things... You can rechamber .243 to .243AI... but you might not want to shorten the muzzle end... you'll have to give up some already from the chamber end...

Also, the "unbalanced" feel you have might be better addressed with a different stock rather than shortening the barrel...

You will use .243 brass (crush fit) to fireform .243AI... get as much input as you can before commencing...

Thanks for the info, I will just have them leave it then, being as its going to be fluted and some taken off the back it should get me closer to the weight I want.

And I can shoot standard 243 ammo from the store if im in a pinch and dont have AI ammo?

Is there any disadvantage to going to a 243AI from my standard 243?

There is quite a lot to consider here... when you commit to rechambering and also fluting a factory barrel... you might want to shoot this barrel first, especially since it shoots so well...

Then later, if you're still of the same mind, have a custom barrel in .243AI installed...

Yes, you can shoot factory .243 ammo in an AI chamber...