Optics question

hugetacticles

i currently have a Ruger m77 chambered in 7mm rem mag. It's got a Leupold Vari x2 2-7 on it. On the higher power my eye relief is only 2.75 inches which makes me a bit nervous. I'm looking at the vortex ha 2.5-10 with the duplex reticle. The thinngs I like about it are the 4 inches of eye relief, the 2.5 power on the lowest setting, and the turrets. I'm still not sure if I want a ffp or sfp I could go either way. I can get one of these new for a little over $300. My question is this. I'm new to optics and I'm wondering if there is something else in this price range that would be a more quality option?

What are you trying to get your rifle to do?

What kind of hunting do you plan on doing?

This will have a lot to do in what scope I would recommend.

You should also keep in mind that your optics are not the place to try to save money. Your scope is what is going to get that projectile where it needs to go. I would try to save up a little more cash and get something a little better.

It's primarily going to be a whitetail gun. Where I hunt most of my shots are 200 yards and in. I am taking it to Colorado next fall on and elk hunt and I plan to shoot a lot between now and then and be proficient out to 450. I've always had an interest in long range shooting so i would love to be able to shoot longer distances at targets but it's primarily a hunting rifle. What would be a suggestion you would have for something more quality that the viper? I have 3 kids under 4 so I'm trying to do this the most responsible way I can! Thanks for the reply and info!

new scopes have a ton of markup to go with that pretty box with all the pictures on it. the best money you will ever spend would be to search the classifieds for a used better quality scope and buy that. 300 bucks new will not buy you much quality - as in, slightly better than walmart quality.