Nikon lazer 1500?

I'd say pass. My nikon 800 doesn't live up to it's 800 yard "claim." It's only good out to about 600 on non-reflective objects.

I am assumeing you mean the monarch 1200 LRF. This is a very good range finder for the money. I have an old buckmaster 800 and it is good for about 600 non reflective and 800 only in the absolutely best conditions, but the newer monarchs have better electronics. I've played with one and was pretty impressed. I'd get one before the Leupy RXIV. The biggest check against them is the fact that the optics are pretty dimn compared to the Leica and swaro (Can't even compare). But the ranging ability is quite good for only $400. If you want an inexpensive range finder that will serve you in daylight like mid range varmint hunting I think it would be hard to beat. JMHO ;)

I have Nikon 1500 Elite and like it. I have ranged bushes and trees to 1200 yards. Cows 1250 1250 and deer to 600 yards. If angle is wrong or light is wrong then all things are hard to lazer. I am happy with mine so far but to be honest I have not compared it to anything else in real world trials.

If i remember right the way the nikons run is the 800 is good to about 600yds, the 1200 is good to about 800yds. what you really need to do is take the range finder to some place where you know the range of some game sized targets and then see what your rangefinder will pick up. coming from a guy who sales em and has tested a whole lot of them i would tell you the optimal range finder for the money is the Leica CRF 1200, it will get you consistantly out to 800yds on deer sized animals. The bushnell 1500 elite is also a really good unit for the money and while alot bigger than the little leica it will range a little farther.