Newbie to Long Range

lgray88

Id like to say hello too everyone here on this forum as im a newbie to this long range stuff but it like too take it up, at present im runnin Sako 75 in .22-250, i havent been pushing this weapon out too its limits as of yet, but id like to apply for a pupose weapon for targets outwith 1000yard range.

Id like if someone could compose a list of tool i need before i can ever think of pushing out to this distances. Wind Meter,Rangefinder ,Chrono, Spotting Scope, PDA for ballistic data etc.

Id like to go down the line of using a .338 lapua magnum depending if i can have the weapon put on my permit , i will be reloading this caliber also . I know some of you may say this is a big step up from a .22 centrefire but i want something that wont need replaced as my experience of long range improves.

Id like to know what kind of setup to work with action barrel setup and im either goin too top it off with a Nightforce Scope or Leupold Mark 4

thankyou in advance

liam

lgray88,
First, welcome to the site.
It seems that you have already started a somewhat conprehensive list of what you need .
For a low cost exposure to what you will need, I would recommend one of Shawn Carlock's earlier DVD's . Part of the video goes thru some of the gear needed, and recomendations. Also, shows alittle of how to use ballistic software. Contact Defensive Edge on this site. The video won't cost you much, but could save you money in the long run.
Also, do you reload ?
My list at present is
-Swarski Laser rangefinder
-Kestrel 3500 weather meter
-Dell Axim PDA w/ Nightforce ballistic software
-Nightforce ballistic software for home computer
-Nightforce 5.5x22 50mm NXS on longrange caliber of choice
-Harris swivel Bipod w/ padlock
-Triad Tactical rear bag
I do not have a good spotting scope yet.
A good chrono would be useful, but you could validate your trajectory without one, just takes more time.