Long Range Newbie, Questions

justinp61

Guys I'm new to long range shooting and have a few questions for 22-250 shooters. My Savage model 12 FVSS should be here next week, I still have to order the scope, a Leupold VX3 6.5-20X40AO with a 30mm tube and the varmint hunter reticle. The rifle has a 1 in 12 twist barrel. I will be shooting some 400 yard steel and some long range ground hogs.
What are some good loads? What's the heaviest bullet them 1 in 12 will shoot accurately? From what I've read it should shoot 50-60' grain bullets well.

Thanks

Bergers in the 60 and 62 gr range are very good out of my buddies Model 12, I think he was shooting H380 but switched to Varget with the Bergers. Smoked an antelope at 506 yrds last year and a few deer and it worked picture perfect, he's been shooting it regularly out to 800yrds+ this summer getting ready for more antelope.

60 grn bullets should shoot very well in a 12 twist. There's tons of options, from 55-60+ grns. H-380 is well known in 22-250, and Varget is great too.

If you want to load alot of ammo with minumal fuss, H-380 meters like hot butter. No reason to weigh charges once the meter is set up. Varget is a little slower because it's extruded. I weigh/trickle each charge when using Varget, but not necessary with H-380.

38-39 grns H380, 35-37 grns Varget.........work up carefully.

Good Luck:)

Model 12 22-250 is a great gun and very accurate. I like the groups I was getting out of the 52 grn bergers and the 50 grn nosler ballistic tips. I used H4895 with these bullets. great combintion and very fast mv. 38.5 grns was getting me just under 4000 fts. it was quite a hot load but shot very well. you will definately enjoy that rifle.